Committee on Transportation System Security and Resilience

AASHTO 2020 Joint Policy Conference Goes Virtual

The in-person AASHTO 2020 Joint Policy Conference has been postponed to next year as a result of COVID-19. AASHTO staff and the planning committee are identifying new dates for an in-person program in 2021.

In the meantime, we are excited to announce that a 2020 virtual program is under development with the help of AASHTO members, staff, and partners. From September 28-October 2, we are scheduling peer exchanges and technical sessions designed to address the most pressing policy issues facing state DOTs. Several policy committees (including the Committee on Planning, Special Committee on Freight, Committee on Transportation System Security & Resilience, and Council on Active Transportation) will also be meeting within and amongst each other, making this virtual event a true interactive exchange.

Additional details are forthcoming. Please check for announcements on

Welcome to the Committee on Transportation System Security & Resilience

The Committee on Transportation System Security & Resilience (TSSR) covers preparation for and response to both natural and human-made threats, shocks and stressors to the transportation system.

The Committee coordinates national efforts, identifies best practices, and fills research gaps to promote resilient and secure transportation systems across the country. The Committee provides a forum for members to advance state-of-the-practice and awareness of transportation infrastructure security and resilience through training, technical assistance, and the exchange of information and best practices.

TSSR works to shape and implement national policy affecting transportation infrastructure protection and resilience and tracks emerging federal policies on these topics. TSSR relies on the cross-disciplinary membership of the Committee—which highlights the interdependencies of emergency management, planning, design, environment, maintenance, and operations in the resilience cycle—to oversee the development of technical expertise and tools for state DOTs to perform risk-based identification of potential impacts, plan for system adaptation needs, and prepare for response and recovery of impacted transportation systems.

AASHTO Liaisons
Melissa Savage
Director, Center for Environmental Excellence

Patrick Zelinski
Associate Program Manager